MINISTRY OF FINANCE

(Department of Revenue)

NOTIFICATION

New Delhi, the 28th August, 2019

S.O. 3122(E).—Whereas in exercise of the powers conferred by section 35AC of the Income-tax Act, 1961 (43 of 1961) read with rule 11G of the Income Tax Rules, 1962, the Central Government constituted the National Committee for Promotion of Social and Economic Welfare vide notification of the Government of India, Ministry of Finance (Department of Revenue) number S.O. 5(E) dated the 2nd January, 1992 published in the Gazette of India Extraordinary Part II Section 3, Sub-Section (ii) dated the 2nd January, 1992 as amended by notification numbers S.O. 926(E) dated the 22nd December, 1994, notification number S.O. 892(E) dated the 23rd December, 1997; notification number S.O. 444(E) dated the 21st May, 2001; notification number S.O. 1258(E) dated the 1st February, 2004; notification number S.O. 227(E) dated 1st February, 2008; notification number S.O. 1021(E) dated the 31st March, 2017.

And whereas, in terms of sub-rule (1) of Rule 11G of the Income Tax Rules, 1962, by the aforesaid notification, fourteen persons were appointed by the Central Government as Chairman and members of the said Committee;

And whereas, the term of the Chairman and members of the aforesaid Committee ended on 30th March, 2018. And whereas, the term of the Chairman and members of the aforesaid Committee was extended for a further period of six months i.e. up to 30th September, 2018 vide notification number S.O. 1658(E) dated the 17th April, 2018. And whereas, the term of the Chairman and members of the aforesaid Committee was extended for a further period of six months i.e. up to 31st March, 2019 vide notification number S.O. 5160(E) dated the 5th October, 2018. And whereas, the term of the Chairman and members of the aforesaid Committee was further extended for a further period of six months i.e. up to 30st September, 2019 vide notification number S.O. 1706(E) dated the 8th May, 2019.

Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 35AC of the Income Tax Act, 1961 (43 of 1961) read with sub-rule (1) and (3) of rule 11G of the Income Tax Rules, 1962, the Central Government hereby extend the tenure of following persons as Chairman and members of the National Committee for Promotion of Social and Economic Welfare for a further period of six months w.e.f. 1st October, 2019 i.e. till 31st March, 2020.

1	Justice R.C. Lahoti	Former Chief Justice of India	Chairman
2	Shri Amardeep Singh Cheema	Vice Chairman, Nehru Yuva Kendra Sangathan and Social activist	Member
3	Dr. Amiya Kumar Sharma	Executive Director, Rahstriya Gramin Vikas Nidhi, Guwahati	Member
4	Shri Baldev Chowdhary	Ex-Chairman, UP Congress Committee SC/ST Cell	Member
5	Smt. Chetna Sinha	Micro Finance and Women Entrepreneurship, Founder & Chairperson, Mann Deshi Bank	Member
6	Shri D.R. Mehta	Padam Bhushan and Retired Civil Servant, Founder & Chief Patron, Bhagwan Mahaveer Viklang Sahayta Samiti (BMVSS), Jaipur.	Member

7 8	Shri Enrico Piperno	Former Tennis Player and coach	
8		Tormer Tennis Trayer and coden	Member
	Shri Habib A. Fakih	Specialist in local self government and Public Administration, Vice President, The Federation of Linguistic & Religious Minorities Education Institution, Maharashtra	Member
9	Prof. Naladi Samuyelu	Emeritus Professor, Deptt. Of Sociology & Social Work, Acharya Nagarjuna University, Guntur	Member
10	Dr. Naresh Gupta	Director, Professor, Maulana Azad Medical College and Associated hospitals, New Delhi	Member
11	Shri Sanjiv Kumar Arora	Chartered Accountant	Member
12	Smt. Shameema Raina	Social worker	Member
13	Smt. Shashikala Vamanan	Educationist	Member
14	Shri Vinayak Lohani	Social Entrepreneur and founder of Parivar	Member

[F. No. 2/2019/F. No. V. 27013/3/2018-SO(NAT.COM)]

RASMI RANJAN DAS, Jt. Secy. (FT&TR-I) & Secy. (National Committee)